15 Aug California’s New Carbon Monoxide Detector Law
Posted at 00:00h in Important Information 0 Comments
California SB 183, requiring all single family California homes and rental units to be equipped with carbon monoxide detectors, went into effect on July 1, 2011. Carbon monoxide detectors must be installed in all homes by January 1, 2013. The presence/absence of carbon monoxide detectors must also be disclosed in the transfer of residential real estate.
More details of SB 183:
- Requires the seller of the home to disclose whether or not the property has one or more carbon monoxide detectors
- Requires a seller to certify the property is in compliance with laws requiring smoke detectors and the bracing of water heaters
- Failure to install a carbon monoxide device is an infraction
- An owner must be given a 30-day notice to correct the violation and can face a fine of $200 for each offense if not corrected within that time period.
- Tenant must notify landlord if the tenant becomes aware that the device is inoperable or deficient
- Landlord is not in violation if he/she has not received notification from the tenant
- Landlord may enter dwelling unit for the purpose of installing, repairing, testing, and maintaining carbon monoxide devices
To download the entire bill, visit leginfo.ca.gov